Infographic: The French Presence in Saskatchewan

Alternative Formats

The French Presence in Saskatchewan. Details in text following the infographic.
Text version: The French Presence in Saskatchewan

Text version: The French Presence in Saskatchewan

  • French is the first official language of 1.4% of the population (14,290 people)
  • Nearly 5% of the population (46,570 people) can speak both English and French
  • French is the mother tongue of almost 2% of the population (17,580 people), and numbers are growing!
  • 7%*
    11,518 students are enrolled in French immersion (* of eligible enrolment)
  • 22%*
    35,820 students are enrolled in core French (* of eligible enrollment)
  • 13 Francophone elementary schools and 2 Francophone high schools
  • In 2015, 1,870 students were enrolled

Where do Francophones live?

There are three main French-speaking regions in the province: along the North and South Saskatchewan rivers, in the southeast of the province and in the southwest of the province.

Economic Regions

  • Regina–Moose Mountain: 24%
  • Swift Current–Moose Jaw: 15%
  • Saskatoon–Biggar: 28%
  • Yorkton–Melville: 4%
  • Prince Albert: 29%
  • Northern: 1%

Where were they born?

Most Francophones in Saskatchewan were born in the province.

  • In Saskatchewan: 65%
  • Elsewhere in Canada: 25%
  • Abroad: 9%


July: The Fête Fransaskoise showcases Francophone art, culture and music.

November: The Rendez-vous Fransaskois brings the community together to discuss and celebrate its vitality and development.


Fort à La Corne was built on the Saskatchewan River from 1752 to 1755, marking the westernmost French fortification. Members of the Roman Catholic Church arrived in the 1800s and established a mission at Île-à-la-Crosse, a trading post where a large population of French-speaking Métis gathered.

In 1877, the Parliament of Canada amended the North-West Territories Act to insert guarantees of parliamentary, legislative and judicial bilingualism. At the time, the Northwest Territories included the future provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta, among others.

In 1891–1892, some members of the Territorial Assembly made an unsuccessful attempt to abolish parliamentary, legislative and judicial bilingualism. However, teaching in French was outlawed.

In 1905, the Parliament of Canada passed twin laws creating the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. The bilingualism guarantees granted in 1877 technically remained in force, but were not applied.

In 1912, the Association franco-canadienne de la Saskatchewan was founded. This organization, which is now known as the Assemblée communautaire fransaskoise, represents Saskatchewan’s French-speaking community.

In the 1920s, Francophones from elsewhere in Canada and from Europe settled in the province of Saskatchewan. At the same time, many non-Francophone settlers arrived to work on the railway.

The Education Act was amended in 1968 to allow French-language education. Fransaskois parents were given control of their own schools in 1993. The provincial government declared 2012 as the Year of the Fransaskois.



More information

Date modified: